No ELD and Log Book Violation Tickets

Make the best of a bad situation. Get your questions answered and find out your options with a free consultation.

What We Do

We Fight Log Book Violations Anywhere In Arizona

man shrugging because he has no logbook to show

No Log Book

This is exactly what it sounds like – A driver who is required to maintain a log book but does not could be charged with a no log book violation. See 49 CFR 395.8(a)(1).

driver making a false logbook entry in an ELD

False Report of Driver Duty Status

A false report of driver duty status (false log book) occurs when what is recorded in the ELD or log book does not match what really happened. There are two ways this can happen:

First, a driver could intentionally falsify a log book entry. This is usually done when a driver believes he has violated the hours of service rules, and the driver does not want the log book to reflect the hours of service vhiolation.

Second, an innocent error could result in a false log book entry. As you might imagine, if the error was innocent, and the driver has documentation to support what should have actually been entered, and the accurate information does not violate any hours of service rules, the chances for a favorable outcome are much better than with an intentional false entry.

A false log book entry is a violation of 49 CFR 395.8(e)(1).

truck driver pinching his temple in distress at have no record of his duty status

No Record of Duty Status

This violation would come up if a driver is required to have a log book, but does not, or if the driver actually does have a log book (or an ELD –  electronic logging device), but has not recorded his or her duty status in that log book. In other words, there is a period of time where there is no data available when there should be.

When there is no data, an investigating officer cannot determine whether or not the driver is complying with the hours of service rules.

49 CRF 395.8 requires a driver operating a commercial motor vehicle to record the driver’s duty status.

electronic logging device displaying data

No Electronic Logging Device

A “no ELD” violation is charged under the same statute as a no log book violation, 49 CFR 395.8(a)(1). In summary, most drivers who are required to record their duty status under 395.8(a) must also use an electronic logging device. There are a few exceptions:

  • Drivers who operate under the short-haul exceptions are not required to use ELDs and may continue using timecards;
  • Drivers who use paper logs for not more than 8 days out of every 30-day period.
  • Drivers who conduct drive-away-tow-away operations, in which the vehicle being driven is part of the shipment being delivered.
  • Drivers of vehicles manufactured before 2000.

Even if a driver has an ELD, he could still be charged with a violation if the ELD is malfunctioning in some way, or if the driver is unable to transmit data from the ELD to the investigating officer.

Our Record Speaks For Itself

  • Over 100 5-star reviews online
  • Over 2,200 cases completed
  • Experienced in over 160 courts in Arizona
  • 36 years of combined attorney experience

YOUR CASE IS OUR PRIORITY

Small Law Firm Attention, Big Firm Results

Most law firms dabble in traffic tickets, but traffic tickets are our focus. We know traffic law inside and out, we know our way around the MVD, and we are well respected in the dozens of courts we frequent. Let our knowledge and experience work for you.

criminal speeding ticket attorneys and staff
Traffic Law GuysExcellentTraffic Law Guys4.9 Based on 111 reviews fromSee all reviews review us onSean K.Sean K. ★★★★★ Sometimes mistakes happen and you need someone that knows the law to help you out. The Traffic Law Guys are the best. They devised a strategy and fixed a situation with the best possible outcome. Highly recommended!!!!Brother Woody B.Brother Woody B. ★★★★★ I contacted them via the webpage with questions related to a traffic ticket. I got a prompt and thorough response that contained very helpful information. That one exchange left me with adequate knowledge of the facts I needed to proceed with a strategy I was comfortable with. No charge and professional help! I would certainly come back next time and would feel comfortable trusting them to handle a case in the future if needed.kaan S.kaan S. ★★★★★ Highly recommend this firm. I got a ticket for going 112 mph at a 65 mph zone. The court that the ticket was issued from was Bagdad Yarnell Justice Court. This is probably the worst place you can get a ticket from. On top of that, I accidentally missed my court date. That was when I contacted Traffic Law Guys. They immediately got the arrest warrant removed, and took care of the legal process. I ended up having to pay a fine, and had to take a driving course. That was it. I am actually happy with that outcome, considering that there was a person in the same courtroom as me who got a jail sentence for speeding.Response from the ownerThank you Kaan! js_loader

Frequently Asked Questions

How do we fight a false log book, no log book, or no ELD ticket?

Usually, whether there was a log book or not, or an ELD or not, or whether the entries were correct or not, is fairly straight-forward. Either there was an ELD/log book, and it was correct, or it wasn’t.

Some possible arguments might include:

  • The ELD malfunctioned, or
  • The driver has receipts that back up what is stated in the log.

Absent a legal argument, we are left to present our clients in the best possible light and negotiate an improved outcome. A prosecutor may take into consideration things like:

  • A clean driving record
  • A history of community service
  • School or employment history
  • Other mitigating details

    Some prosecuting attorneys are willing to consider an arrangement wherein our client pleads to a reduced charge (perhaps with no CSA points) or a civil charge, or participates in diversion that results in the charge being dismissed. Generally speaking, prosecutors are not looking to cause a driver to lose their job. There are unfortunately exceptions to this (I’m looking at you Maricopa County).

    What are the log book violation penalties?

    Log book violations are criminal violations according to A.R.S. 28-5240, which states:

    A. In addition to civil penalties imposed under this chapter, a motor carrier, shipper or manufacturer who operates or causes to be operated a commercial motor vehicle in violation of this chapter or who knowingly violates or knowingly fails to comply with any provision of this chapter or with any rule adopted pursuant to this chapter is guilty of:
    1. A class 2 misdemeanor for a first offense.
    2. A class 1 misdemeanor for a second offense.
    3. A class 6 felony for any subsequent offense.

    For the vast majority of cases we see, the driver is facing a first-time log book violation. This means the driver is facing a class 2 misdemeanor, and the following possible consequences:

    • Class 2 misdemeanor criminal conviction.
    • Fines up to $750 plus surcharges and court assessments that could nearly double the total fine
    • Up to 4 months in jail.
    • Up to 2 years probation

    For the majority of people, if they are found guilty the consequences include:

    • Class 2 misdemeanor conviction.
    • Fines in the $300-$600 range
    • No jail, no probation.

    There can also be some collateral consquences:

    • A conviction can impact a driver’s employment
    • Immigration issues
    • CSA points for the driver’s employer
    • Having to disclose a criminal conviction on job applications

    How many points is a log book violation?

    This is a two-part answer.

    Log book violations are charged under the code of federal regulations (CFR), and not the Arizona Revised Statutes. Also, log book violations aren’t technically moving violations. As a result, the Arizona department of Transporation (ADOT), does not assess any points to a driver’s license.

    However, there will be CSA points assessed (assuming there was an inspection that occurred at the same time the ticket was issued). Falsifying a log book is 7 points. Failing to keep a log book is 5 points. 

    When do CSA points go away?

    CSA points age, so as time passes, the points decrease.

    A false logbook violation is 7 points. These points are subject to a time multiplier. For a violation that is less than 6 months old, the points are multiplied by 3. A 5-month-old false logbook violation would be 21 points.

    Violations that are more than 6 months old but less than 12 months old are multiplied by 2. A 9 month old false logbook violation would be 14 points.

    Violations that are more than 12 months old but less than 24 months old are multiplied by 1.

    For violations older than 24 months, the points are not counted.

    How long does a case take?

    Three to four months is usually a good estimate of time.

    Will I have to appear in court?

    If you hire an attorney, your attorney can often attend court without you. Some courts require that a defendant attend pretrial conferences, but this is the exception rather than the rule. We represent many clients from out-of-state who never return to Arizona or attend court in-person. If you decide to enter into a plea agreement, it is possible you will have to appear by phone once. If your case goes to trial, you will almost certainly need to attend the trial in person. You can discuss whether or not your presence is necessary with your attorney.

    What if I don’t live in Arizona?

    Most courts will let you appear by telephone for court appearances other than a trial. Some courts may require you to make this request in writing, others not. If you live out of state, call the court and ask them about their policies regarding telephonic appearances. If you have an attorney, your attorney can take care of this. If your case ends up going to trial, you will need to come back to Arizona for the trial. If your case is resolved without going to trial, you probably won’t need to physically return to Arizona.

    Will a conviction affect my job?

    It depends.

    A single log book violation is not going to impact your legal ability to drive. However, depending on the policies of your particular employer, it could impact your job.

    Can I set aside or expunge a conviction?

    To expunge something means to make it dissappear entirely. Arizona only permits expungement in very limited circumstances. This is not one of those circumstances.

    Arizona does have a mechanism to set aside convictions however. If the court sets aside a conviction, it means that the judge undoes the conviciton and dismisses the charge

    The answer to “can you set aside a log book violation conviction” is “there is a good chance you can.” See our page about setting aside convictions for more details.

    Arizona also has a mechanism to seal criminal records. This goes much further than a set aside towards removing a criminal conviction from one’s background.

    Note however that any sealing or seting aside of a conviction does not affect what has been reported to ADOT and FMCSA.

    Will a criminal conviction affect my immigration status?

    Maybe. We always advise our clients to consult with an immigration attorney to get a definitive answer to this question. Keep in mind though that a log book violation is not like assault, fraud, theft, burglary or any crime that involves a victim. Also, it does not involve alcohol, drugs or guns, all of which will create major problems for immigration. If the charge involved intentionally making a false entry, this would probably be worse than simply failing to maintain a log. This is because making a false entry on purpose implies some dishonest motive, wherease failing to keep a log could be just an oversight.

    In another post, we discuss potential immigration consequences with immigration attorney Jessica Cadavid.

    Contact Us

    Let’s see what we can do about that ticket.

    info@trafficlawguys.com

    480-626-5415

    5635 N. Scottsdale Rd. #170, Scottsdale, AZ 85250

    M-F: 9am-5pm, S-S: Closed

    Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
    Name

     

     

    Latest Posts

    Driving Record In Arizona

    Driving Record In Arizona

    How To Get A Copy Of Your Driving Record In Arizona Here's how to get a copy of your driving history from the Arizona Department of Transportation.What you are looking for Driver License Motor Vehicle RecordMake Sure You Get The Right Record There are two records that...

    Where To Pull Over For The Police

    Where To Pull Over For The Police

    Where To Pull Over For The Police If you are ever pulled over by the police, better to have a plan in advance. Here are some Do's and Don'ts.Pulling over for the police The Do'sDO Pull Over As Soon As Possible When police light up a driver, they expect the driver to...

    3 Things Arizona Drivers Need To Know About Speed Limits

    3 Things Arizona Drivers Need To Know About Speed Limits

    You can be charged with a crime for exceeding the speed limit by more than 20 mph. Arizona has a criminal charge called Excessive Speed, a.k.a. criminal speeding. If you are driving more than 20 mph over the posted speed limit, you can be charged with excessive speed....