Arizona Courts of Limited Jurisdiction – Justice Courts, City Courts, Municipal Courts

Courts of limited jurisdiction include city courts and justice courts. These courts are called limited jurisdiction because they only handle certain case types. For example, they will not hear civil disputes involving sums over $10,000.00, and they do not handle felony cases.

Limited jurisdiction courts are the ones that handle civil and misdemeanor traffic violations in Arizona. Whether a defendant ends up in city court or a justice court depends on which law enforcement agency issues the ticket. If the city police issue the ticket, it will go to a city court. If the Arizona Department of Public Safety, Sheriff, or tribal police issue a ticket, it will go to a justice court.

Below is a list of all the justice courts in Arizona as well as some of the city courts. We haven't appeared in all of these yet, but we've been in over 90 of these courts, so odds are very good we have experience with the court handling your ticket.

Justice Courts

Maricopa County

  • Manistee
  • Maryvale
  • McDowell Mountain
  • Moon Valley
  • North Mesa
  • North Valley
  • San Marcos
  • San Tan
  • South Mountain
  • University Lakes
  • West McDowell
  • West Mesa
  • White Tank

Yavapai County

Coconino County

  • Flagstaff
  • Fredonia
  • Page
  • Williams

Apache County

  • Chinle
  • Puerco (Sanders)
  • Round Valley
  • St. Johns

Mohave County

  • Bullhead
  • Kingman/Cerbat
  • Lake Havasu
  • North Canyon

Cochise County

  • Bisbee
  • Douglas
  • Benson

Gila County

  • Globe Regional

Graham County

  • Justice of the Peace #1 (Safford)
  • Justice of the Peace #2 (Pima)

Greenlee County

  • Clifton
  • Duncan

La Paz County

  • Parker
  • Quartzsite
  • Salome
  • Superior

Navajo County

  • Holbrook
  • Kayenta
  • Pinetop-Lakeside
  • Show Low
  • Snowflake
  • Winslow

Pima County

  • Ajo
  • Green Valley
  • Pima County Consolidated (Tucson)

Pinal County

  • Pioneer
  • Casa Grande
  • Central Pinal
  • Western Pinal
  • Copper Corridor
  • Apache Junction

Santa Cruz County

  • Precinct 1 (Nogales)
  • Precint 2 (Sonoita)

Yuma County

  • South County
  • Wellton
  • Yuma

City and Municipal Courts

  • Avondale City Court
  • Buckeye Municipal Court
  • Carefree Municipal Court
  • Chandler Municipal Court
  • El Mirage Municipal Court
  • Florence Municipal Court
  • Gilbert Municipal Court
  • Glendale City Court
  • Litchfield Park Magistrate Court
  • Maricopa Municipal Court
  • Mesa Municipal Court

Some courts also have a special court for veterans known as veterans' court.